Resources

 

Retirement Resources

Grab my newest free guide, Ten Key Issues to Consider as You Explore Your Retirement Transition, by clicking here.

Bratter, Bernice and Dennis, Helen. Project Renewment: The First Retirement Model for Career Women, (Scribner, 2008).

Brown, Brené.  The Gifts of Imperfection, (Hazelden, 2010).

Brown, Brené. Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead, (Gotham, 2012).

Chimsky, Mark Evan: 65 Things to Do when You Retire: 65 Notable Achievers on How to Make the Most of the Rest of Your Life, (Sellers Publishing Inc, 2012).

Cohen, Gene D., MD. Ph.D., The Mature Mind, The Positive Power of the Aging Brain, (New York: Basic Books, 2005).

Cullinane, Jan.  The Single Woman’s Guide to Retirement, (Wiley, 2012).

Donaldson, Jaleh, Making Marriage a Success: Pearls of Wisdom from Experts Across the Nation, (Booklocker.com, Inc. 2011).

Emmons, Robert. Thanks! How Practicing Gratitude Can Make You Happier, (Mariner Books, 2008).

Frankel, Bruce. What Should I do with the Rest of My Life? True Stories of Finding Success, Passion and New Meaning in the Second Half of Life, (Penguin Publishing, 2010).

Freedman, Marc. The Big Shift: Navigating the New Stage Beyond Mid Life, (Public Affairs, 2011).

Goldman, Connie. Who Am I..Now that I’m Not Who I Was?, (Nodin Press. 2009.)

Hawley, Miriam and McIntyre, Jeffrey.  You and Your Partner, Inc.: Entrepreneurial Couples Succeeding in Business, Life and Love, (Enlignment, Incorporated, 2012).

Jay, Gary R. Remarkable and Real: Remarkable Questions, Real Possibilities for the Second Half of Life,  (Business Expert Publishing, 2011).

Jeffers, Susan. Feel the Fear…And Do It Anyway, (Ballantine Books, 2006).

Kind, Viki. The Caregiver’s Path to Compassionate Decision Making: Making Choices for Those who Can’t (Greenleaf Book Group, 2010.).

Kurth, Brian. Test-Drive Your Dream Job: A Step-by-Step Guide to Finding and Creating the Work You Love, (Business Plus, 2008).

Leider, Richard J. and Shapiro, David A. Something to Live For: Finding Your Way In the Second Half of Life, (Berrett-Koehler Publishers, Inc., 2006).

Leider, Richard. The Power of Purpose: Find Meaning, Live Longer, Better, (Berrett-Koehler Publishers, 2010).

Nelson, Tammy. Getting the Sex your Want: Shed Your Inhibitions and Reach New Heights of Passion Together, (Quiver, 2008).

Nelson, Tammy. The New Monogamy: Redefining Your Relationship After Infidelity, (New Harbinger Publications, 2013).

Nemzoff, Ruth, Ed.D. Don’t Bite Your Tongue, How to Foster Rewarding Relationships with Your Adult Children, (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008).

Nemzoff, Ruth, Ed.D. Don’t Roll Your Eyes: Making In-Laws into Family, (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012).

Ogden, Gina, Ph.D. The Heart and Soul of Sex, Making the ISIS Connection, Trumpeter Books (Shambhala Publications, 2006).

Richo, David. The Five Things we Cannot Change…and the Happiness we Find by Embracing Them, (Shambhala, 2006).

Rosenberg, Renee Lee. Achieving the Good Life After 50: Tools and Resources for Making It Happen (The Five O’clock Club), (Five O’Clock Books, 2007).

Sadler, William, Ph.D. and Krefft, James Ph.D, Changing Course: Navigating Change After 50, (The Center for Third Age Press, 2008).

Seligman, Marty. Flourish: A Visionary New Understanding of Happiness and Well-Being, (Free Press, 2012).

Sharf, Maggie. September Songs: The Good News about Marriage in the Later Years, (Penguin Books, 2009).

Stone, Marika and Howard. Too Young to Retire: 101 Ways to Start the Rest of Your Life (A Plume Book, Penguin Group, 2002).

Singer, Marc. The Changing Landscape of Retirement: What you Don’t Know Could Hurt You,  (ATA Press, 2011).

Taylor, Roberta K. and Mintzer, Dorian.  The Couples Retirement Puzzle: 10 Must-Have Conversations for Transitioning to the Second Half of Life,( Lincoln Street Press, 2011).

Trafford, Abigail. My Time: Making the Most of the Rest of Your Life, (New York: Basic Books, 2004).

Vandervelde, Maryanne, Ph.D. Retirement for Two: Everything You Need to Know to Thrive Together as Long as You Both Shall Live, (Bantam Books, 2004).

Weil, Andrew, M.D. Healthy Aging: A Lifelong Guide to Physical and Spiritual Well-Being, (New York, Alfred A. Knopf, 2005).

Zander, Rosamund Stone, and Zander, Benjamin. The Art of Possibility: Transforming Professional and Personal Life, (Penguin Books, 2002).

 

Web Resources

AARP: www.aarp.org

Career Journal: a premier site for career changers www.careerjournal.com

Center for Elders and Youth in the Arts (CEYA): www.ioaging.org/programs/art/art.html

Civic Ventures: www.civicventures.org

Couple’s Retirement Puzzle: www.couplesretirementpuzzle.com

Elder Hostel: www.elderhostel.org

Experience Corps: www.experiencecorps.org

Free Agent Nation www.freeagentnation.com

National Center for Creative Aging: www.creativeaging.org

National Council on Aging (NCOA): www.ncoa.org

North Carolina Center for Creative Retirement: www.unca.edu/nccr

Revolutionize Retirement: www.revolutionizeretirement.com

Third Age Inc: www.www.thirdage.com

Vocation Vacations: Test Drive Your Dream Job  www.vocationvacations.com

 

Volunteering

Access Jobs: lists non-profit jobs www.accessjobs.org

Action Without Borders: www.idealist.org

Cross Cultural Solutions: www.crossculturalsolutions.org

Global Exchange: www.globalexchange.org

Habitat for Humanity: www.habitat.org

Peace Corps: www.peacecorps.gov

Volunteer Match: www.volunteermatch.org